Tata Group is an Indian multinational  organisation holding company headquartered AT  Mumbai, Maharashtra. Founded in 1868 and founder of Jamshedji Tata, the company gained international recognition after acquiring several global companies, beginning with Tetleyin 2000, recorded as “the largest acquisition in Indian allied history. One of India’s largest leading organisation, Tata Group is owned by Tata Sons.

Each Tata company operated independently under the leadership and guidance of its own board of administrators and shareholders. There are 29 publicly listed Tata enterprises with a combined to build market capitalisation of approximately  $151.61 billion as of March 1, 2018. Important Tata companies and subsidiaries involved  Tata Steel,Tata Motors,Jaguar Land Roverwith its marquesJaguarandLand Rover,Tata Consultancy Services,Tata Power,Tata Chemicals(includingTata Swach),Tata Global Beverages(includingTata Coffee),Tata Teleservices,Titan watches,Tata Communications Services, and The Indian world famous Hotels Company Limited (Taj Hotels).




Natarajan Chandrasekaran is current  Chairman of the board of Tata Sons, the holding company and promoter of more than 100 Tata operating companies with aggregate annual revenues of more than US $100 billion. He appointed the board of Tata Sons in October 2016 and was appointed Chairman in January 2017.

Chandra also chairs the boards of several group operating multiple companies in different sector, including Tata Steel, Tata Motors, Tata Power, Tata Global Beverages, Indian Hotels Company and Tata Consultancy Services (TCS) is the most famous IT industries  — of which he was chief executive from 2009-17.

The Tata group companies include 29 publicly-listed corporations with a combined market capitalisation that exceeded US $120 billion at the start of 2017.


Natarajan chandrasekaran

The Chairman of Group Tata Sons is the Chairman of the Tata Group.
  • Jamsetji Tata (1868 — 1904)
  • Sir Dorab Tata (1904 — 1932)
  • Nowroji Saklatwala (1932 — 1938)
  • JRD Tata     (1938 —1991)
  • Ratan Naval Tata   (1992 — 2012) , (2016 — 2017)
  • Cyrus Mistry  (2012 — 2016)
  • Nataranjan Chandrasekaran  (2017 till present)


Tata Group has helped establish and finance different research, educational and cultural institutes in India, and received the Carnegie Medal of Philanthropy. Some of the institutes founded by the Tata Group are:

  • The Energy and Resources Institute is a non-governmental research institute
  • The JRD Tata Ecotechnology Centre
  • National Centre for Performing Arts
  • Tata Cricket Academy
  • Tata Football Academy
  • Tata Institute of Social Sciences
  • Tata Management Training Centre
  • Tata Medical Center, inaugurated on 16 April 2011 by Ratan Tata
  • Tata Memorial Hospital
  • Tata Cancer Hospital

In 2008, Tata Group donated $50 million USD to Cornell University,  for “agricultural and nutrition programs in India and for the education of Indian students at Cornell.”

In 2010, Tata Group donated ₹ 2.20 billion ($50 million) to the Harvard Business School ( HBS ) to build an academic and a residential building for executive education programmes on the institute’s campus in Boston, now Tata Hall, which is the largest advantage received by HBS from an international donor.